YUMA, ARIZONAYuma news. Local context. Evidence you can check.

CLAIM UNDER REVIEW

Arizona’s approximately 27% statewide calculation does not establish an across-the-board 27% cut to Yuma.

Arizona’s approximately 27% statewide calculation does not establish an across-the-board 27% cut to Yuma.

Updated

Assessment

Mostly SupportedConfidence: HighLast reviewed:

The evidence supports the main point, with stated limitations.

This is an editorial assessment of the cited evidence, not a finding by a court or public authority.

Evidence summary

Editorial inference: 760,000 divided by the listed 2,800,000-acre-foot basic apportionment is about 27.14%. Different local priority classes and the preliminary on-river Priority 4 TBD prevent that arithmetic from establishing a uniform user allocation.

What the evidence establishes

Editorial inference: 760,000 divided by the listed 2,800,000-acre-foot basic apportionment is about 27.14%. Different local priority classes and the preliminary on-river Priority 4 TBD prevent that arithmetic from establishing a uniform user allocation.

What it does not establish

That Yuma is exempt, loses nothing, or has any particular final percentage reduction. This is not a judicial holding.

What remains unknown

Final user-specific 2027 delivery treatment.

Supporting sources 7

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, final 2027–2028 operating guidelines

    §3 printed p. 2; §5.3.A printed p. 7/PDF p. 8; §5.3.B printed p. 8/PDF p. 9; §5.9 printed p. 15.

  • Primary source · Meeting recordADWR/CAWCD, August 24 Arizona Reconsultation Committee presentation

    Slides 22–23 and 39–40. This presentation reflects preliminary government planning and legal positions. Its shortage figures are illustrative and should not be treated as final individual allocations.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona priority description

    p. 1 priority classes and qualifications.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 1 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading September 2025. Pages 1–3 visually checked against text from the same file. The entitlement list distinguishes diversion quantities from consumptive-use quantities and includes limiting PPR footnotes. Those quantities should not be combined as though they measure the same thing. Not a certification against all later amendments.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 3 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading August 2024. Pages 1 and 3 visually checked against text from the same file. District shares total 250,000 AF CU; Unit B is acreage-based; City total is 50,000 AF CU including its PPR component.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 4 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading December 2025. Text and rendered pages agree: Somerton 750 AF diversion on page 3; Cocopah 2,026 AF diversion on page 4, with PPR cross-references. The retained official PDF was checked visually against its extracted text for these entries. Later amendments remain outside the scope of this snapshot.

View 1 more supporting sources
  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, current-link CY2026 forecast PDF

    Official current-link PDF retained September 22, 2026. Report stamp: September 21, 2026, 11:44:47 AM (timezone not stated). Same-file text and rendered Arizona pages 2–3 agree. CY2026 City of Yuma approved diversion 32,600 AF; forecast diversion 31,242 AF; forecast use 18,646 AF. Use-to-date is updated through July for monthly reporters and estimated for annual reporters; forecast is provisional, not final actual use or a 2027 order. The URL can change.

Contradicting sources

No published contradicting sources are attached. This does not establish that none exist.

Sources 7

  • Primary source · Meeting recordADWR/CAWCD, August 24 Arizona Reconsultation Committee presentation

    Slides 22–23 and 39–40. This presentation reflects preliminary government planning and legal positions. Its shortage figures are illustrative and should not be treated as final individual allocations.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 1 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading September 2025. Pages 1–3 visually checked against text from the same file. The entitlement list distinguishes diversion quantities from consumptive-use quantities and includes limiting PPR footnotes. Those quantities should not be combined as though they measure the same thing. Not a certification against all later amendments.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 3 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading August 2024. Pages 1 and 3 visually checked against text from the same file. District shares total 250,000 AF CU; Unit B is acreage-based; City total is 50,000 AF CU including its PPR component.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona Priority 4 list

    Retained September 22, 2026; heading December 2025. Text and rendered pages agree: Somerton 750 AF diversion on page 3; Cocopah 2,026 AF diversion on page 4, with PPR cross-references. The retained official PDF was checked visually against its extracted text for these entries. Later amendments remain outside the scope of this snapshot.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, Arizona priority description

    p. 1 priority classes and qualifications.

  • Primary source · Government recordReclamation, current-link CY2026 forecast PDF

    Official current-link PDF retained September 22, 2026. Report stamp: September 21, 2026, 11:44:47 AM (timezone not stated). Same-file text and rendered Arizona pages 2–3 agree. CY2026 City of Yuma approved diversion 32,600 AF; forecast diversion 31,242 AF; forecast use 18,646 AF. Use-to-date is updated through July for monthly reporters and estimated for annual reporters; forecast is provisional, not final actual use or a 2027 order. The URL can change.

View 1 more sources

Related articles 1

  • ExplainerArizona Is Losing Colorado River Water. Is Yuma?

    Arizona’s conditional 760,000-acre-foot share does not establish a uniform 27% cut to Yuma. Here is what the official records say about local priorities, planning and the decisions still unresolved.

Organizations 3

Source documents 1

  • CY2026 water-use forecast: September 21, 2026 snapshot

    Exact official PDF retained September 22, 2026. Official current-link PDF retained September 22, 2026. Report stamp: September 21, 2026, 11:44:47 AM (timezone not stated). Same-file text and rendered Arizona pages 2–3 agree. CY2026 City of Yuma approved diversion 32,600 AF; forecast diversion 31,242 AF; forecast use 18,646 AF. Use-to-date is updated through July for monthly reporters and estimated for annual reporters; forecast is provisional, not final actual use or a 2027 order. The URL can change.

Related topics 1

  • Colorado River Water & Yuma

    What federal Colorado River reductions mean for Yuma-area water holders, with evidence on priorities, planning, conservation and unresolved delivery decisions.